Cajas National Park

Wayne’s post – Wow!  Yesterday, I completed my longest hike to date in Cajas National Park.  The park’s tall mountains loom in the distance to the east of Cuenca and are about 30 minutes away from the city center.  I went with the local hiking/outdoor adventure group called Club Sangay. When our 9 hour hike was over we had traversed the entire park and my leg muscles were mush.  The last couple of hours were physically and psychologically demanding, but today I can appreciate the incredible beauty of the trek and the accomplishment of completing the challenge.

Cajas is a special place, unlike any other place that I have been to before.  Between 12,000 and 14,000 feet there are few trees and many lakes (250+) of varying sizes, totally different from the North Carolina mountains.

Not long ago (11/11/12), Lisa, Rachel, Alex, and I went for a great hike there with friends.    We had a wonderful day walking through a beautiful valley surrounded by mountains.    It reminded me of Yosemite, but here we were greeted by curious wild llamas at the most remote part of the valley.

I spent another day in Cajas with James who taught me to fly-fish.   At the end of the day I felt like I actually knew what I was doing and had caught about eight beautiful rainbow trout.    They tasted great that evening after I fried them up in the skillet.

So, I am very excited about doing more hiking in Cajas, and outdoor adventuring in general with Club Sangay.  There is so much to see and do here in this small but spectacularly diverse and gorgeous country.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Cajas National Park

  1. betty

    I am dreaming myself into your beautiful photos. The llamas are more endearing looking than I would have imagined. Thanks for sharing, Wayne. Betty

  2. Megan

    that’s beautiful Wayne! Happy Birthday to Rachel!

  3. Bob

    8 trout?! You guys are livin’!

Leave a Reply

